To sew or not to sew

June 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

I haven’t had any time to sew lately. I miss my sewing room but know that this is a temporary state. When I have been so inclined to do some sewing I’ve been doing handwork. I can sew in the den at night  once the kids are in bed and I’m too tired to really focus on anything else. It’s enjoyable and relatively mindless. I now understand why my friend MLM started doing a lot of handwork when she had her second baby. He’s now in his mid twenties and she’s still addicted.

While I was pregnant with #2 I started working on an English paper pieced quilt. Ultimately the quilt will go from white to cream, blue, grey and black. I’m pretty excited about it.

I had the wherewithal to staple a scrap of each fabric choice to paper so I knew the general order I wanted them. I have forty fabrics and anywhere between ten and twelve hexagons per color. The hexagons are an inch and a half wide so the quilt won’t be huge. I couldn’t imagine making it any larger. Four hundred hexagons is a lot of hexagons.

Here’s a sneak preview.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To sew or not to sew at Where Is My Needle.

meta

