I’ve Got it Covered

February 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

My best friend’s daughter goes to a private school here in town. In the first grade the children are presented with a prayer book. Now, my Marnie is pretty fabulous and can do a lot of things. Sewing is not one of them. She called me and asked if I’d make the cover. She sent all the information and here’s what happened.

Marnies’s daughter is a girly girl that loves purple and BFF loves hearts so I incorporated those onto the back. Two of the hearts have photos of the twins.  The candle pattern was sent in the info packet as were the Hebrew letters. Other than trying to put the letters on backwards putting the cover together was fun.

I added handles to the sides of the cover so the book could be carried easily. I also added ribbons to use as markers in the prayer book.

The inside has a fun Kaffe Fasset fabric. I appliqued a dedication from her parents inside the front cover and a small note from me on the back cover.

The best part of making this was seeing the HUGE smile on a sweet girl’s face when she saw her cover.

Oh, and Marnie liked it, too.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’ve Got it Covered at Where Is My Needle.

meta

